School log books dating back to 1865 were once rescued from a builder’s skip! They provide a fascinating insight into social history and conditions so their survival is very fortunate. In 2016 Sue-Briant-Evans published a brief history of the school including colourful excerpts from the logs. It is reproduced here.
Month: August 2020
The Richards were once one of the largest and oldest established families in the village; a family of dissenters and industrialists. They were the last occupants of the cottages that once stood on Park Meadow. Read the story of William Richards schoolmaster, butcher and baker who met a ‘barmy’ end.